My Personal Review of the Movie “Avatar”


I just went to see it tonight in 3D IMAX. The place was jammed packed – and it’s about 2 weeks since its debut.

First of all, go see it. Seriously, there’s no other like it. It may not be one of those movies you’d go back and see 3 times in a row, but you’ll enjoy every minute of it – irrespective of the 2:40 duration. (Just some advice though: If you do walk in with a 44-oz gulp of soda, wait some time before you drink it. Luckily for me… and my entire row, I heeded this advice). The greatest part about the film is that I can describe it in a 1,000 words and even try to spoil it, but to enjoy it fully you’ll have to go see it.

If I have one piece of criticism here it is: The film gets all credit for its technological novelty and innovation and little for its predictable and somewhat-cliche story line.

Ok. The movie. It was as great as I expected it to be. I expected it to be powerful. And it was. I expected it to be meaningful. And it was. And I expected it to be amazing. And it was!

I’m more a fan than a critique when it comes to decent movies. I liked Shawshank Redemption (who doesn’t). I enjoyed Titanic (I know many didn’t). I’ve seen the movie Gladiator more times than I should have, and I occasionally browse IMDB’s 250 Best for my nights off (The Dark Knight, V for Vendetta, Confidence – all favorites).

But when you see Avatar, you begin to truly appreciate certain things; the magic of CGI (Computer Graphic Imaging), the sense of depth involved, and of course, Director James Cameron. I love how technology had to “catch up” with his vision for the film.

When you experince Avatar you suddenly want to visit Pandora and the gorgeous Halleluja Mountains. You want to meet the Na’vi. You want to fly on the back of a Banshee and just slap Colonal Quaritch. It’s an experience thing. Which is why the “IMAX 3D” version adds so much to the equation.

On Powerful. The movie portrays a story of conviction. One that truly pits possibility against probability, and necessity against comfortability.

Our hearts and minds are not machines and we’re subject to interpret reality based on the environment we live in. As we do that the lines that differentiate good and evil, real and fake, right and wrong, begin to blur incredibly.

Imagine finally being able to run after being paraplegic. Imagine seeing your entire sacred shrine destroyed in smoke and flame. Imagine being betrayed by the people you’ve come to entrust with your life. Imagine realizing that the people and world you live with share an entirely different set of moral values than you do.

On Meaningful. I find it intriguing how intensely spiritual the film is. The world of Pandora is bound by this electrifying energy that yins and yangs the process of life into perfect balance.

The film is a great questioner of sorts, sifting through your biases eager to crack any underlying flaws. Is it always permissible to kill in order to protect? Is it always immoral to conquer in order to improve? Why would God ever choose a side? If we peer through the looking-glass of our own history we can spend hours arguing each side.

On Amazing. Everything about the film is spectacular. The creativity of a new world, the originality of its story, and with special effects, which are not merely “special”, but dynamic methods of transporting you into an unbelievably enchanted fantasy  you wish was all possible in the local realm.

All in all, I have to give Avatar two thumbs up and Cameron a great hand for opening doors to worlds we couldn’t even dream of!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

