Firing your worst best freind: Email


“What could be added to he who has money but no job, time and people to enjoy it with, and an empty inbox?

I have revolutionized my Email. Results: Unreal! I used to get over 50 emails a day, (that’s 350 a week if you’re on vacation). This ranged from investment newsletters, to spam mail, to Facebook notifications to emails from friends and family. This does to your head a OCD of checking email constantly. Some people don’t even log off! How sad!

About 2 months ago, I decided enough was enough. I cracked down. Goal: Check email once a week.

  • First I made a new rule: No email in the mornings (or whenever I wake up).
  • I then created a list of spam and label filters that sent everything to its proper place. Goodbye odd jobs applications and millions I could be losing. I think I’ll be fine.
  • Next, I deactivated Facebook. (See explanation below).
  • Next, I went on an unsubscribing frenzy. I opted-out of everything. Everything!
  • Finally, I enabled the following auto-responder:

Dear Freinds,

Due to high workload, I am currently checking and responding to email once daily at 4:00 P.M. ET. If you require urgent assistance that cannot wait until 4:00 P.M., please contact me via phone at 555-555-5555. Thank you for understanding this move to more efficiency and effectiveness. It helps me accomplish more to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Me

Why No Facebook?
“What? How do you stay in contact with the world?”. Two words: Phone and email. I believe there are 2 people on Facebook (and Twitter for that matter): The Dead and The Living. Those who have lives and those who don’t. It seems to be the job of those who do to upload their lives in order to supplement the lack thereof to the less fortunate. If you have a life, live it! Also, you can now actually hang out, talk, show-off to your friends (enemies?) next time you see them (now that you’re not just stalking them online). My objection again is not that it’s bad. Just that it’s gotten way out of hand.

On Unsubscribing and Secondary Email
Unsubscribe from everything. This could take time as many emails come weekly, or even monthly. If its too hard to unsubscribe, just hit “Report Spam”.

But what about that cool newsletter you love to read. For this I suggest you open a new email account exclusively for such pursuits. This address should be forwarded to your primary address filtered to go directly into a folder (see below) to be checked no more than once a week. It should then be printed out and read in your own time.

How To forward your secondary email using Gmail:

  1. Sign up to your new email address at Gmail.com
  2. Return to your primary address and click “Settings” on the upper right hand corner, and click on “Accounts”.
  3. Go to the second option “Get mail from other accounts”
  4. Click on “Add a mail account you own”.
  5. Follow instructions. A new label should be made on the left with the name of your new email.
  6. Now go to “Filters” in “Settings” and create a filter (bottom) to send all mail sent “To” your new address directly to that folder, skipping the inbox.
  7. Check this label once a week.

Trust me on this: That first day you open your email for the first time in 24-hours and find nothing… it’s a great feeling!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

